adventure · Advice · Babies · beach · Cars · Child · children · family · mini van · Mommy · mother · review · Travel · Uncategorized

First van trip

Over the weekend we had our first semi-long distance trip to the beach with the new van. WOW what a difference! we started with the windows down then the kids faces got really red so we turned the AC on. That rear AC is a life changer!! It also has front individual AC control. I tend to usually get cold quicker than my husband, so it was so nice to keep my side a littler warmer.
When we got down there, I had to climb in the back to put together snack bags. We had brought our double stroller, pack and play, umbrellas, pool/beach bag, lots of water, blankets for the sand, and food. We had planned to be on the beach all day, but it stormed pretty bad right when we got down there that we ended up doing other things instead. We had an amazing time as a family. It was so nice to fit all of our things in the trunk with the rear seats down comfortably, and I was able to sit back there, change Lillys diaper, dress both kids in swim suits (because it was pouring raining), and pack snacks.

I really love that in my dodge caravan there isn’t a middle seat in the second row because it allows us a walk space, or isle, when we need one. Climbing over the seats would be really difficult. Plus, that stow away option is just brilliant!

Seriously y’all, having a minivan made a world of a difference! It made the day so much less stressful and easy! While traveling there we made a few stops so we could use the restroom. Wyatt and myself probably peed the most on that trip LOL! Well, there weren’t any changing tables in the bathrooms and the one that did have one was broken… go figure. So being able to change her in the privacy of the van was awesome! Especially when she goes number 2 and were in a bad area. My back windows are tinted fairly dark  from the factory so no one can see in. That feature will come in handy as she gets older and we get a travel potty for her. Not to mention all the SPACE! OH.MY.GOODNESS. Such a breeze!!

In case you’re wondering how the sand cleaned up: On the way home we were all covered in sand and so my van was COVERED in it. Worth it! The next morning I went out with my shop vac and it vacuumed up easily. I have black interior and you can’t even tell there was ever sand there. Not that the sand maters but being such a large vehicle, it didn’t really take that much longer to vacuum up than a smaller vehicle. If anything it took less time cause there was more room for me to fit in the van to get all those smaller crevices.

On the drive to and from it stormed pretty bad but my van handled amazing in the rain! Because the beach is flat, we hit flooding of up to 4 inches of water on the roads at times. We didn’t hydroplane more than a few times in the really deep spots closer to the edge of the road. I was nervous about the flooding at first being that there isn’t much of a clearance under the vehicle, but I was really impressed on how well it handled. It was also a very comfortable ride. the seats are leather, so being hot and sticky from the salt water and the rain, me wearing shorts often, I keep a thin blanket in my van to cover my seat. I hate for my legs to stick to the seat!! It hurts when you have to rip you leg skin off to change position LOL! If you have or have ever sat on leather, you know exactly what I mean. The drivers seat has lumbar support, and even with my husbands bad back, he found it a comfortable drive.

One thing I wish I had done before our trip was put rain-X on my windshield. The rain wasn’t beading and at times we couldn’t even see 2 inches in front of us. So if you plan on traveling a far distance with a chance of rain, especially at night, I highly recommend rain-Xing the heck out of your windshield!

Happy travels! Where are or have you gone this year?

HQNPE0504

Leave a comment