Religion · Uncategorized · venting

Trial and error. Finding our forever church. 

We have been trying to find our forever church, and it has been pretty difficult. I didn’t think it would be hard to find a church that we love. Maybe I’m too picky, I’m not sure. But overall what I look for is truth. We were going to this church for quite a few months, but then the pastor had said something that didn’t quite sit well with me. So I talked to my husband about it. My husband was with me during the sermon, and he told me he didn’t think the pastor meant it in the way that it came out. So fine, I let it go a bit. But it was still nagging at me after a few hours, so I called my father in law and he told me to contact our pastor and discuss it with him. I thought to myself… You know, we’re not a member there. We’re not paying monthly or yearly to attend there. I really don’t have a say in the matter. Maybe I should just keep my mouth shut. I’ll go by my 3 strike rule. So the next Sunday comes and my hubby and I are sitting there waiting for the pastor to preach when his wife goes up on the stand and starts to tell a story. She started talking about her daughter and how she has a “gay friend, who is a lesbian, and her and her girlfriend have two crack babies; which I don’t know how the government allowed them to have these crack babies.” I immediately felt uncomfortable, and mad. It is one thing to discuss homosexuality, but to be unprofessional and judgmental about it is another. She attacked this woman brutally to the congregation. If she were at home in her own place of peace, talking to her daughter, sure… I still wouldn’t judge so harshly! I understand the bible teaches us that being a homosexual is an abomination. I get that. But we still have to respect and love each other as Jesus/God asked us to. For her to be SO judgmental, mean and unprofessional made me uncomfortable. My husband then, looked at me and just said “wow, I can’t believe she just said that. You can’t say that in church.” John 13:34 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. 

We then started going to a different church, of course, but this has happened to many, many people. Not just at this church but at others as well. Some have even lost faith because some people don’t preach truth. By knowing the word we can then determine who and which church is truthful. I know many people who have gone to a church or spoken with a pastor, or a teacher, or even a Christian in general, and got offended and hurt. Not because they were preaching truth, but because they weren’t. 2 Timothy 4:3-4 For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths. 

3 thoughts on “Trial and error. Finding our forever church. 

  1. I certainly understand what you are going through, especially as someone who has recently come to faith. I’ve been in the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod (LCMS) my whole life. Everything from acolyte to president. I can tell you that you will find SOMEONE that’ll rub you wrong, but the pastor and/or his wife? Not so much.

    I think your approach is the right one; find someplace that preaches truth. Attending a church is not about paying either. Don’t ever let that stop you from talking to a pastor about clarity on his sermon. If he’s worth his salt, he’ll be HAPPY to talk to, to help you with your faith walk. If not, well, keep looking.

    So many churches are watering down God’s Word and trying to be popular to attract members, it is hard to find a good, bible-preaching church. Have you ever heard of Ken Ham? Creation Museum in Kentucky? One of the many books he’s been involved in is ALREADY GONE, which is a study of why kids leave the church so quickly. Bottom line – the Word is not preached fearlessly, so they don’t take it as seriously as their science classes in school. They have a cartoon of Noah’s Ark on the one hand, and test tubes and labs on the other. Which would you choose!

    I’m still with LCMS, because the official position is, if it isn’t in the Bible, then it isn’t s. It is the sole source of truth. Not everyone toes the line equally well, but it’s the best I’ve found so far. Still, when I moved to Memphis, the first couple I went too were too loosy-goosy for me.

    Again, your approach is the right one. Just keep searching. You’ll end up where God would have you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind, and encouraging words! No I have not heard of him. I will have to look him up. Congrats on your new found faith! I too am a new, born again Christian. I will definitely keep that in mind when, and if someone else rubs me the wrong way. 🙂 thank you again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

