Advice · Religion · Uncategorized

Why Bible study? 

As most of you may already know, I  am a new, born again Christian and absolutely LOVING it, hallelujah! My mother in-law recommended  that I partake in doing a 48 week discipleship with her. What is it? Once a week or once every other week, or whenever you finish your lesson, for 48 weeks we meet and there is a lesson of which you study from the Bible. Most of it is pretty basic, but overall it is there to teach you about His Word and how to apply it to your life. Currently I am on lesson 7 out of 10. 

I can deffinately say that if you were anything like me, doing Bible study really, really helps, and is a wonderful start! There is always something new to learn from Him and His Word. So this will kind of give you a little bit of a crash course and a good understanding. 

Before I was saved I didn’t know the first thing about Christianity, let alone understand any of what the Bible preaches! I mean that’s a huge book with tons of little writing, yikes! Well I can now proudly say, Jesus really is my best friend! That’s what He wants, us to have a close and personal relationship with Him. What I also find so fun and less stressful is that you don’t have to start reading the Bible from the beginning!! What?! Yeah! I was recommended to start on the book of John. Which I now recommend to anyone who asks where they should start. John is mostly about Jesus and His crucifixion on the cross. His word becomes flesh, His life that he gave to save us from our sins. For me the book of John really opened my heart. Plus, might sound crazy, but I understood it all!!! Every word! I was so amazed! The Holy Spirit was flowing through me and He was right there with me, allowing me a faithful heart,eyes and ears! I was hooked from then on! Now I get excited each time I get a new lesson cause I get to learn something completely new! 

What to do once the 48 weeks is over?  You should attend the Bible study sessions they hold at your church. Like I said, there is always something new to learn, and as a new christian we want to keep His Word fresh in our minds and hearts. When we don’t get His word, our Holy Spirit becomes malnourished and it can cause us to let our guard down and allow for evil to creep it’s way back into our lives. Matthew 4:4 “Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.” So reading His Word daily, if you can, is best! ❤ 

2 thoughts on “Why Bible study? 

  1. I’m very happy for you. If there was only one resource I could recommend, outside the bible, it would be this: the Defenders Class, by Dr. William Lane Craig.

    Dr. Craig’s bio:

    William Lane Craig is Research Professor of Philosophy at Talbot School of Theology and Professor of Philosophy at Houston Baptist University. He and his wife Jan have two grown children.

    At the age of sixteen as a junior in high school, he first heard the message of the Christian gospel and yielded his life to Christ. Dr. Craig pursued his undergraduate studies at Wheaton College (B.A. 1971) and graduate studies at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School (M.A. 1974; M.A. 1975), the University of Birmingham (England) (Ph.D. 1977), and the University of Munich (Germany) (D.Theol. 1984). From 1980-86 he taught Philosophy of Religion at Trinity, during which time he and Jan started their family. In 1987 they moved to Brussels, Belgium, where Dr. Craig pursued research at the University of Louvain until assuming his position at Talbot in 1994.

    He has authored or edited over thirty books, including The Kalam Cosmological Argument; Assessing the New Testament Evidence for the Historicity of the Resurrection of Jesus; Divine Foreknowledge and Human Freedom; Theism, Atheism and Big Bang Cosmology; and God, Time and Eternity, as well as over a hundred articles in professional journals of philosophy and theology, including The Journal of Philosophy, New Testament Studies, Journal for the Study of the New Testament, American Philosophical Quarterly, Philosophical Studies, Philosophy, and British Journal for Philosophy of Science.

    This first link is for two videos where Dr. Craig simply talks about the class and why it’s worth your time. Watch the two videos and if you’re not compelled to move forward, you’ve lost nothing.
    Defenders 3, 1st section, Foundations of Christian Doctrine: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLIpO3BUiq2IHKHZVzyzayj5yemo03pxfY

    Link to his website and the Defenders Class: http://www.reasonablefaith.org/defenders-3-podcast

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

